School and Student Safety2023-08-24T22:56:00+00:00

School and Student Safety

It’s important for children to be in school so they can learn and grow. Did you receive an attendance letter from your school? The Southern Nevada Family Engagement Center is here to help!

Nevada state law states that students can’t miss more than 10% of scheduled school days in any school year. This letter helps keep families informed about their child’s absences – but you’re not in trouble! This is a chance to partner with your school to ensure your child is on track academically and minimize future absences.

Nevada state law states that students can’t miss more than 10% of the scheduled school days in any school year. Most Nevada school districts have 180 days in a school year, meaning your child cannot miss more than 18 days or they may have to repeat a class or a grade.

Your child is considered absent if they missed more than 30 minutes of a class period. Younger students who remain in one classroom during the day will have attendance taken for the morning and afternoon, while older students who move classrooms during the day will have attendance taken for every class period.

If your child arrived any time after the start of the class but before the 30 minute mark, they are marked as “tardy”. Tardies do not count towards chronic absenteeism and the 10% of scheduled school days, but tardies can still have a negative affect on your student’s academic success!

You will still see that class listed with an absence count on the attendance letter. If your student misses 18 days of that class or more, they may have to retake the class next year.

Other Resources

Attendance is important to a student’s success in school, but we understand there are many different reasons a student may miss school. These resources answer some common questions around attendance.

Go to Top